This is the "Books & E-books" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jul 7, 2016 URL: http://libguides.delbarton.org/biology Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & E-books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search for Books, Reference Works, & Videos

ebrary

Delbarton School has access to the School Collection, a growing database of e-books selected specifically for academic libraries.

Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

 

Search Google Books



Call Number Areas

000 Computers, Information & General Reference

100 Philosophy & Psychology

200 Religion

300 Social Sciences

400 Language

500 Science

600 Technology

700 Arts & Recreation

800 Literature

900 Geography & History

 

      

    Books at the Delbarton Library

    How are books organized?

    Books are organized by subject using the Dewey Decimal System.  Books with similar subjects are often near each other on the shelves. The call number is a book's "address."

     Where are the books located?

    Reference Books:  Quiet Study and bookcases under window and diplay cases in Main Room (library use only)

    Circulated Books:  Main stacks (available for checkout)

    Call Number Areas for Biology:

              570 Life Sciences
              571 Physiology
              572 Biochemistry
              573 Physiological systems of animals
              574 Not assigned or no longer used
              575 Physiological systems of plants

              576 Genetics and evolution
              577 Ecology
              578 Natural history of organisms
              579 Microorganisms

        
       

      Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Reference Guides

      Encyclopedia of Life - Open access global effort to document all 1.8 million named species of animals, plants, and other forms of life. Initiated by Edward O. Wilson, biologist, professor emeritus, Harvard.

      Scitable - Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms.

      Cover Art
      Encyclopaedia Britannica - Dale H. Hoiberg (Editor); Theodore N. Pappas (Editor)
      ISBN: 9780852299616
      Publication Date: 2003-03-01
      Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

      Cover Art
      Encyclopedia of the Biological Sciences - Peter Gray
      Call Number: R 570.3 G78
      ISBN: 0898743265
      Publication Date: 1981-05-01

      Cover Art
      The Epic History of Biology - Anthony Serafini
      Call Number: 574 S48
      ISBN: 0306445115
      Publication Date: 1993-08-21

      Cover Art
      The Penguin Dictionary of Biology - Michael Abercrombie; C. J. Hickman; M. L. Johnson
      Call Number: R 574.03 A14
      ISBN: 0140510036
      Publication Date: 1951-05-30

      Librarian

      Profile Image
      Kent Manno
      Contact Info
      Delbarton School
      230 Mendham Road
      Morristown, NJ 07960
      973.538.3231 x3372
      Send Email
       

      Questions???

      • See Mr. Manno or Ms. Lorenzo during the school day.
      • Call: Phone the library at 973-538-3231 x3370 - Monday-Friday 9am-4pm
      • Email: Delbarton Librarian - a Delbarton librarian will respond within one business day.
       

      Science Daily

      Loading Loading...
      blank padding
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip