This is the "Books & E-books" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jun 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.delbarton.org/content.php?pid=602686 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & E-books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search for Books, Reference Works, & Videos

ebrary

Delbarton School has access to the School Collection, a growing database of e-books selected specifically for academic libraries.

Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

 

Search Google Books



Call Number Areas

000 Computers, Information & General Reference

100 Philosophy & Psychology

200 Religion

300 Social Sciences

400 Language

500 Science

600 Technology

700 Arts & Recreation

800 Literature

900 Geography & History

 

      

    Books at the Delbarton Library

    How are books organized?

    Books are organized by subject using the Dewey Decimal System.  Books with similar subjects are often near each other on the shelves. The call number is a book's "address."

     Where are the books located?

    Reference Books:  Quiet Study and bookcases under window and diplay cases in Main Room (library use only)

    Circulated Books:  Main stacks (available for checkout)

    Call Number Areas for English/Literature:

    800  Literature, rhetoric & criticism
    809  Literary history & criticism
    811  Poetry
    812  Drama
    813  Fiction
    814  Essays
    815  Speeches
    816  Letters
    817  Satire & humor
    820  English & Old English literatures

    830  German & related literatures
    840  Literatures of Romance languages
    850  Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic
    860  Spanish & Portuguese literatures
    870  Italic literatures; Latin literature
    880  Hellenic literatures; Classical Greek
    890  Literatures of other languages

        
       

      Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Reference Guides

      Cover Art
      African-American Writers - Valerie Smith; Arthur Walton; Lea Baechler
      Call Number: R 810 .9 S64
      ISBN: 0684190583
      Publication Date: 1991-03-01

      Cover Art
      American Writers - Leonard Unger
      Call Number: R 810 U57
      ISBN: 0684136627
      Publication Date: 1977-02-01

      Cover Art
      Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia - George Perkins (Editor); Barbara Perkins (Editor); Philip Leininger (Editor)
      Call Number: R 803 B46
      ISBN: 0061810886
      Publication Date: 1987-11-01

      Cover Art
      Cassell's encyclopedia of world literature - Steinberg, S.H.
      Call Number: R 803 S81

      Cover Art
      Encyclopaedia Britannica - Dale H. Hoiberg (Editor); Theodore N. Pappas (Editor)
      ISBN: 9780852299616
      Publication Date: 2003-03-01
      Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

      Cover Art
      Encyclopedia of American Literature - Carol Berkin; Lisa Olson Paddock; Carl E. Rollyson; Facts on File, Inc. Staff (Contribution by)
      Call Number: R 810 .3 E56
      ISBN: 0816041210
      Publication Date: 2002-05-01

      Cover Art
      European Writers - George Stade (Editor); William T. Jackson (Editor)
      Call Number: R 809 B29
      ISBN: 0684165945
      Publication Date: 1983-11-01

      Cover Art
      Great American Writers - R. Baird Shuman (Editor)
      Call Number: R 810.9 S56
      ISBN: 0761472401
      Publication Date: 2002-01-01

      Cover Art
      Great World Writers - Patrick M. O'Neil (Editor)
      Call Number: R 809 .04 O58
      ISBN: 0761474684
      Publication Date: 2004-01-01

      Cover Art
      The Annotated Shakespeare - A. L. Rowse
      Call Number: R 822.33 Je
      ISBN: 0517535092
      Publication Date: 1988-12-12

      Cover Art
      The Norton Anthology of Poetry - Margaret Ferguson (Editor); Mary Jo Salter (Editor); Jon Stallworthy (Editor); Alexander W. Allison (Editor)
      Call Number: R 821 F35
      ISBN: 0393968200
      Publication Date: 1997-01-01

      Cover Art
      The Oxford Companion to American Literature - James D. Hart; Phillip Leininger (Revised by)
      Call Number: R 810.9 H32
      ISBN: 9780195065480
      Publication Date: 1995-10-12

      Cover Art
      The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature - Margaret Howatson
      Call Number: R 880 .9 H85
      ISBN: 0198661215
      Publication Date: 1989-05-25

      Cover Art
      The Oxford Companion to German Literature - Henry Garland; Mary Garland
      Call Number: R 830.3 G23
      ISBN: 0198158963
      Publication Date: 1997-07-10

      Cover Art
      The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature
      Call Number: R 860.3 W26
      ISBN: 0198661142
      Publication Date: 1978-08-31

      Librarian

      Profile Image
      Kent Manno
      Contact Info
      Delbarton School
      230 Mendham Road
      Morristown, NJ 07960
      973.538.3231 x3372
      Send Email
       

      Questions???

      • See Mr. Manno or Ms. Lorenzo during the school day.
      • Call: Phone the library at 973-538-3231 x3370 - Monday-Friday 9am-4pm
      • Email: Delbarton Librarian - a Delbarton librarian will respond within one business day.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip