This is the "Books & E-books" page of the "Art & Art History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art & Art History   Tags: art, art history, drawing, painting  

Last Updated: Jun 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.delbarton.org/content.php?pid=606242 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & E-books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search for Books, Reference Works, & Videos

ebrary

Delbarton School has access to the School Collection, a growing database of e-books selected specifically for academic libraries.

Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

 

Search Google Books



Call Number Areas

000 Computers, Information & General Reference

100 Philosophy & Psychology

200 Religion

300 Social Sciences

400 Language

500 Science

600 Technology

700 Arts & Recreation

800 Literature

900 Geography & History

 

      
     

    Aristotle with a Bust of Homer

    Rembrandt Harmensz. van Rijn 013.jpg

    Rembrandt (Rembrandt van Rijn)
    (Dutch, Leiden 1606–1669 Amsterdam)
    Title: Aristotle with a Bust of Homer
    Date: 1653 Medium: Oil on canvas

      Books at the Delbarton Library

      How are books organized?

      Books are organized by subject using the Dewey Decimal System.  Books with similar subjects are often near each other on the shelves. The call number is a book's "address."

       Where are the books located?

      Reference Books:  Quiet Study and bookcases under window and diplay cases in Main Room (library use only)

      Circulated Books:  Main stacks (available for checkout)

      Call Number Areas for Arts/Arts History:

      700 The arts
      701 Philosophy & theory
      702 Miscellany
      703 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
      705 Serial publications
      706 Organizations & management
      707 Education, research, related topics
      708 Galleries, museums, private collections
      709 Historical, areas, persons treatment
      710 Civic & landscape art
      720 Architecture
      730 Plastic arts Sculpture
      731 Processes, forms, subjects of sculpture
      732 Sculpture to ca. 500
      733 Greek, Etruscan, Roman sculpture
      734 Sculpture from ca. 500 to 1399
      735 Sculpture from 1400
      736 Carving & carvings
      738 Ceramic arts
      739 Art metalwork
      740 Drawing & decorative arts
      741 Drawing & drawings
      742 Perspective
      743 Drawing & drawings by subject
      745 Decorative arts
      746 Textile arts
      747 Interior decoration
      748 Glass
      749 Furniture & accessories
      750 Painting & paintings
      751 Techniques, equipment, forms
      752 Color
      753 Symbolism, allegory, mythology, legend
      754 Genre paintings
      755 Religion & religious symbolism
      757 Human figures & their parts
      758 Other subjects
      759 Historical, areas, persons treatment
      760 Graphic arts Printmaking & prints
      761 Relief processes (Block printing)
      763 Lithographic (Planographic) processes
      764 Chromolithography & serigraphy
      765 Metal engraving
      766 Mezzotinting & related processes
      767 Etching & drypoint
      769 Prints
      770 Photography & photographs
      771 Techniques, equipment, materials
      772 Metallic salt processes
      773 Pigment processes of printing
      774 Holography
      778 Fields & kinds of photography
      779 Photographs

          
         

        Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Reference Guides

        Cover Art
        A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art - Ian Chilvers (Editor)
        Call Number: R 709 .04 C53
        ISBN: 0192116452
        Publication Date: 1998-07-02

        Cover Art
        Atlantic Brief Lives - Louis Kronenberger (Editor)
        Call Number: R 920 K93
        ISBN: 0316504513
        Publication Date: 1971-09-01

        ArtLex
        Definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art / visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references.

        ArtStor
        The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

        Users can create a registered user account when accessing ARTstor from a on-campus computer. Each registered user account allows for a 120-day Remote Access Period during which it may be used to access ARTstor from any computer. Each time a user logs in to his or her account from an on-campus computer, the 120-day period is reset. Click here for registration details!

        Cover Art
        Dictionary of Art and Artists - Murray, Peter and Linda
        Call Number: R 703 M98

        Cover Art
        Dictionary of Contemporary American Artists - Paul Cummings (Editor)
        Call Number: R 709 .2 C97
        ISBN: 0312084404
        Publication Date: 1994-06-15

        Cover Art
        Encyclopaedia Britannica - Dale H. Hoiberg (Editor); Theodore N. Pappas (Editor)
        ISBN: 9780852299616
        Publication Date: 2003-03-01
        Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

        Cover Art
        Encyclopedia of World Art - McGraw-Hill Book Co.
        Call Number: R 703 P16
        Publication Date: 1959

        Cover Art
        Great Artists of the Western World - John Julius Norwich (Preface by)
        Call Number: R 709 G82
        ISBN: 0863077439
        Publication Date: 1987-01-01

        Cover Art
        Lives of the Great 20th Century Artists - Edward Lucie-Smith
        Call Number: R 709 .2 L93
        ISBN: 0847807223
        Publication Date: 1986-07-15

        Oxford Art Online
        The gateway into art research, including the Grove Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

        Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

        Cover Art
        The Oxford Dictionary of Art - Ian Chilvers (Editor); Harold Osborne (Editor); Dennis Farr (Editor)
        Call Number: R 703 .20 C53
        ISBN: 0198600844
        Publication Date: 1997-07-31

        Librarian

        Profile Image
        Kent Manno
        Contact Info
        Delbarton School
        230 Mendham Road
        Morristown, NJ 07960
        973.538.3231 x3372
        Send Email
         

        Questions???

        • See Mr. Manno or Ms. Lorenzo during the school day.
        • Call: Phone the library at 973-538-3231 x3370 - Monday-Friday 9am-4pm
        • Email: Delbarton Librarian - a Delbarton librarian will respond within one business day.
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip