This is the "Books & E-books" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philosophy  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.delbarton.org/philosophy Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & E-books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search for Books, Reference Works, & Videos

ebrary

Delbarton School has access to the School Collection, a growing database of e-books selected specifically for academic libraries.

Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

 

Search Google Books



Call Number Areas

000 Computers, Information & General Reference

100 Philosophy & Psychology

200 Religion

300 Social Sciences

400 Language

500 Science

600 Technology

700 Arts & Recreation

800 Literature

900 Geography & History

 

      
     

    The School of Athens

    Artist: Rafael  Year: 1509-1510
    Type: Fresco  Location: Apostolic Palace, Vatican City

    Books at the Delbarton Library

    How are books organized?

    Books are organized by subject using the Dewey Decimal System.  Books with similar subjects are often near each other on the shelves. The call number is a book's "address."

     Where are the books located?

    Reference Books:  Quiet Study and bookcases under window and diplay cases in Main Room (library use only)

    Circulated Books:  Main stacks (available for checkout)

    Call Number Areas for Philosophy:

    100 Philosophy & psychology
    110 Metaphysics
    120 Epistemology, causation, humankind
    130 Paranormal phenomena
    140 Specific philosophical schools
    150 Psychology
    160 Logic
    170 Ethics (Moral philosophy)
    180 Ancient, medieval, Oriental philosophy
    190 Modern Western philosophy

        
       

      Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Reference Guides

      Cover Art
      Encyclopaedia Britannica - Dale H. Hoiberg (Editor); Theodore N. Pappas (Editor)
      ISBN: 9780852299616
      Publication Date: 2003-03-01
      Note: For remote access instructions (from home) to this database, please log in to Delbarton’s WaveNet and click on the library link in the left column.

      Cover Art
      Encyclopedia of Philosophy
      Call Number: R 103 E26

      Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
      "The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article." - from the IEP

      Cover Art
      Masterpieces of World Philosophy in Summary Form - Frank N. Magill (Editor)
      Call Number: R 108 M19
      ISBN: 0060037806
      Publication Date: 1961-10-01

      Meta-Encyclopedia of Philosophy
      This site compares the treatment of subjects and topics in six philosophy encyclopedias on the Internet. In other words, it lists subjects and topics alphabetically, and marks on a grid if and where various Internet philosophy encyclopedias cover these. There is no indication as to when or how often the site owner updates the information.

      Practical Ethics
      Practical Ethics provides "daily ethical analysis of news events from researchers in four centers based at the Philosophy Faculty, University of Oxford." - from Practical Ethics

      Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
      Run by Stanford University, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is dynamic, regularly updated reference work maintained by scholars in the field of philosophy.

      The Philosophical Lexicon
      The Philosophical Lexicon is a humorous dictionary of “philosophical” terms. (Please note that this dictionary is for entertainment purposes only!)

      Librarian

      Profile Image
      Kent Manno
      Contact Info
      Delbarton School
      230 Mendham Road
      Morristown, NJ 07960
      973.538.3231 x3372
      Send Email
       

      Questions???

      • See Mr. Manno or Ms. Lorenzo during the school day.
      • Call: Phone the library at 973-538-3231 x3370 - Monday-Friday 9am-4pm
      • Email: Delbarton Librarian - a Delbarton librarian will respond within one business day.
       

      A Little Philosophical Humor

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip